June 16, 2018

Connecticut Building Congress Recognizes the 2018 CBC PTA Project Team of the Year!

Hartford, CT - 

The Connecticut Building Congress announced that Litchfield Judicial District Courthouse was selected as the 2018 Project Team of the Year at the 22nd Annual Project Team Awards Banquet, held Tuesday night at the beautiful Bond Ballroom in Hartford. Nearly 300 building owners, architects, contractors, engineers, and consultants packed the ballroom to celebrate the spirit of teamwork that thrives throughout Connecticut’s design and construction industry.

Each year, the Connecticut Building Congress commends outstanding building projects that exemplify project team excellence and represent the best practices in teamwork by project owners, architects, engineers, constructors, tradespeople, and suppliers and service providers. One team is chosen each year out of all the winners as the one that best represents surpassing goals and achieving higher project quality through this close collaboration. This year’s winners in each category are:

K-12 Schools

First:Engineering & Science University Magnet School, New Haven, CT

Merit:Orville H. Platt High School Additions and Renovations, Meriden, CT

Landscape Architecture/Public Spaces

First:St. Paul Church Campus Green & Prayer Garden, Kensington, CT

Merit: Meriden Green, Meriden, CT

Major Renovation/Expansion

First:Henkel Laundry & Beauty Care Pilot Plant, Trumbull, CT

Merit:Marion Peckham Egan School of Nursing and Health Studies, Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT

New Construction

First :Litchfield Judicial District Courthouse, Litchfield, CT

Merit:Ronald McDonald House of Connecticut, New Haven, CT

Small Project

First:Carroll Building,Waterbury, CT

Merit: University of Hartford Gengras Student Union Addition and Renovations, West Hartford, CT


First:Rehabilitation of Bridge No. 04326, Route 175 Over AMTRAK, Newington, CT

Project photos are available at http://www.cbc-ct.org/page-1859786

The judges for the program were:

Sam Carbone, Senior Development Manager (Americas), Real Estate & Infrastructure Dept.,Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, United Arab Emirates

Craig Galati, AIA,Principal,LGA, Inc., Las Vegas, NV

Namhun Lee, Ph.D., CM-BIM, Associate Professor,Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, CT

The Litchfield Judicial District Courthouse project stood out to the judges as a project that required extraordinary effort from the project team members. From the very beginning of the process, collaboration was key to having the facility fit into the surrounding neighborhoods as well as meet the schedule and budget requirements. As a result, the team designed and constructed a magnificent new building that exceeded the expectations of both the State and the City of Torrington. The Connecticut Building Congress creates a forum for building professionals to connect, learn, and grow. Since 1952 CBC has been the premier organization for Connecticut’s building professionals to develop strong industry connections.


Theresa Casey, FSMPS, CPSM
Executive Director
Connecticut Building Congress
E-mail: cbc@cbc-ct.org
Phone: 860-228-0163

Richard Bergan
Marketing Committee Chair 
Connecticut Building Congress
E-mail: rabergan@berganwood.com
Phone 203-626-1717


 null null   null  null
 null  null  
 null  null   null


Connecticut Building Congress, Inc. P. O. Box 107 | Rocky Hill, CT 06067-0107

Michelle Hopson, CBC Executive Director, (203) 340-0092 or cbc@cbc-ct.org
Grace DelStritto, CBC Administrative Assistant, (203) 934-4831 or cbcadmin@cbc-ct.org 
Jennifer Gordon, CBC Operations Coordinator Intern, operations@cbc-ct.org

Emily Yih, CBC Systems and Data Intern, systems@cbc-ct.org  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software