Back to CBC News


HARTFORD – Distinguished members of Connecticut’s construction community assembled at The Bond Ballroom in Hartford on Tuesday night for the annual Project Team Awards dinner hosted by the Connecticut Building Congress (CBC). The winning project teams were recognized for their achievement in project quality excellence through close collaboration. The more than 200 attendees included developers, architects, contractors, subcontractors and consultants.

In addition to the project awards, the Congress donated more than $36,000 to Habitat for Humanity of Greater New Haven and $4,500 in scholarships to graduating high school seniors. Four winning seniors were chosen for displaying promise in their chosen fields of study including architecture, engineering, and construction management.

This year’s winning projects are:

New Construction
First Place
Smilow Cancer Center Hospital at Yale-New Haven
New Haven, CT
Submitted by Turner Construction Company

Award of Merit
Readiness Center at Camp Niantic
East Lyme, CT
Submitted by LaRosa Building Group, LLC

Major Renovations/Expansions
First Place
Restoration of Waterbury City Hall
Waterbury, CT
Submitted by Decarlo & Doll, Inc.

Award of Merit
Mary Hooker Environmental Studies School
Hartford, CT
Submitted by PDS Engineering & Construction

Small Projects
First Place
Bellarmine Museum at Fairfield University
Fairfield, CT
Submitted by Petra Construction Company

Award of Merit
The Groton Senior Center
Groton, CT
Submitted by Enfield Builders, Inc.

K-12 Schools
First Place
Killingly High School and Regional Vocational Agricultural Center
Killingly, CT
Submitted by Gilbane Building Company

Award of Merit
Metropolitan Business Academy
New Haven, CT
Submitted by Fusco Corporation

The esteemed panel of judges included John J. Cistulli (Director, Facilities Construction & Engineering, ESPN, Inc.), Dr. Ray Perreault Jr. (Department of Manufacturing and Construction Management, Central Connecticut State University), Stuart D. Stolfi, P.E. (Managing Principal/Sr. VP of URS Corp (Retired), Construction Arbitrator for AAA), Timothy W. Yahn (President, Malin Construction), and Matthew C. Carlton (Architect (NH), AIA, LEED AP, Staff II – Building Technology, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger).

Connecticut Building Congress is Connecticut’s leading construction industry networking organization. Since 1952, its members have included prominent owners, engineers, architects, attorneys, general contractors, developers, cost consultants, subcontractors, suppliers, and testing laboratories. CBC’s educational, networking and philanthropic programs encourage the growth of its members and the sustained progress of the industry.

For additional information regarding the event or Connecticut Building Congress please contact:
Richard Bergan – Marketing Chair – Connecticut Building Congress (, 860.301.8921)
Theresa Casey, FSMPS, CPSM – Connecticut Building Congress (

Event photos Photographer: Paul Rossi





Connecticut Building Congress, Inc. P. O. Box 107 | Rocky Hill, CT 06067-0107

Theresa Casey, FSMPS, CPSM, CBC Chief Executive Officer, On Target Marketing & Communications, (860) 228-0163 or
Grace DelStritto, CBC Administrative Assistant, (203) 934-4831 or 
Lucia Visconti, CBC Operations Coordinator, 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software