June 21, 2018

Connecticut Building Congress Recognizes Young Scholars at the 2018 CBC Project Team Awards Banquet!

Hartford, Conn -

The Connecticut Building Congress Scholarship Fund presented renewable scholarships to five of Connecticut’s graduating high school seniors at its 22nd Annual Project Team Awards Banquet. Three $2,000 and two $3,000 scholarships were awarded at the event held at the Bond Ballroom in Hartford on Tuesday, June 12.  

The awards are based on academic merit, extracurricular activities, career potential and financial need. Applications are accepted only from Connecticut residents who will be studying towards a two- or four-year degree related to the design and construction industry.  

The 2018 Connecticut Building Congress Scholarship Fund recipients are: 

Yael Canaan

College: Carnegie Mellon

Major: Architecture

High School: Wilbur Cross High School

Hometown: New Haven, CT


Tessa Carty 

College: Cornell  

Major: Civil Engineering 

High School: Norwich Free Academy 

Hometown: Norwich 


Tanya Gianitsos 

College: Roger Williams  

Major: Architecture 

High School: Old Saybrook High School 

Hometown: Old Saybrook 


Morgan Daley 

College: Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute  

Major: Civil Engineering 

High School: Northwestern Regional 7 High School  

Hometown: Norfolk  


Mathieu Letendre 

College:  Washington University at St. Louis 

Major: Architecture 

High School: University High School of Science and Engineering 

Hometown: Berlin   

Thomas DiBlasi, President of the Connecticut Building Congress Scholarship Fund, and president of DiBlasi Associates, a structural engineering firm based in Monroe, commenting on the value of the scholarships, said, Encouraging young people to enter the design and construction industry is very important to the success of the state and national economy. We currently are experiencing a workforce shortage on nearly every level. Engineering, architecture and construction management, in particular, compete for students with high tech, science and medical fields.  

 “Our industry is also battling a stigma associated with being a skilled construction laborer, such as an electrician, plumber or mason,” explained DiBlasi. “This is where the industry has the biggest need right now. That is why we are looking into expanding our scholarships offerings to technical schools for high school graduates and adult learners. We realize college isn’t for everyone. You can earn a great living and support a family as a skilled laborer, without incurring the skyrocketing costs of a conventional college education.” 

 The Connecticut Building Congress Scholarship Fund, founded in 1973, is financed through generous donations from CBC members and the annual Connecticut Building Congress Golf Outing Fund raiser. Tax-deductible donations may be made payable to The Connecticut Building Congress Scholarship Fund, Inc., PO Box 107, Rocky Hill, CT  06067. The 2018 Golf Outing is slated for Monday, September 24, 2018, at Shuttle Meadow Country Club in Kensington. Registrations and sponsorships will be listed at www.cbc-ct.org. 

The Connecticut Building Congress creates a forum for building professionals to connect, learn, and grow.  Since 1952 CBC has been the premier organization for Connecticut’s building professionals to develop strong industry connections. 

CBC Scholarship Fund Vice President John Hawley with CBC's 2018 Scholarship Recipients (left to right: Tanya Gianitsos, Morgan Daley, Mathieu Letendre, Tessa Carty, and Yael Canaan)


Theresa Casey, FSMPS, CPSM
Executive Director
Connecticut Building Congress
Email: cbc@cbc-ct.org

Richard Bergan
Marketing Committee Chair
Connecticut Building Congress
Email: rabergan@berganwood.com


 null null   null  null
 null  null  
 null  null   null


Connecticut Building Congress, Inc. P. O. Box 107 | Rocky Hill, CT 06067-0107

Michelle Hopson, CBC Executive Director, (203) 340-0092 or cbc@cbc-ct.org
Grace DelStritto, CBC Administrative Assistant, (203) 934-4831 or cbcadmin@cbc-ct.org 
Jennifer Gordon, CBC Operations Coordinator Intern, operations@cbc-ct.org

Emily Yih, CBC Systems and Data Intern, systems@cbc-ct.org  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software